Standard

Better Not


Better not close your eyes before you sleep

Tiptoeing in the dark while bad things creep

Bad like you and me, posing with our arms folded across our chest

Dosing off on dreams, calling ourselves dope and fresh

Wanting to be saved and wanting to be men

Dying inside for The Truth after being born in sin

The insiders roll their eyes, thinking of crazy things to say

hunched over by evil and bags of lies that weigh

Filled with greasy greens and slimy meat

Hoping I dose again and eat my way to sleep

How could they forget, when I ate at their table

Picked my feet and cleaned my naval

Dirty dishes, clogged toilets, and over flowing sinks

Better not close your eyes, not even a blink

Better Not

Leave a Reply

