Raise Me Up


My heart jumped around
all out of favor, preparing
this to be my very last breath

with my toes in syncronize rhythm
pounding down the concrete beat,
praying this to be just a test

muttering out unapologetic words
in between breathes
and exhaling in the name of Jesus

just me and my spirits
blazing down blacktops hoping
He’d recognize my thoughts and see us

as he did when I birthed
and took the first one,
inhaling screams to claim my presence

and now I ask
that he take a second look
and raise me up, out of Adolescence

Leave a Reply

